Go to search feature Go to content

You need to use a different browser. To be able to use our internet services, you can instead use one of these browsers: Apple Safari, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge or Mozilla Firefox.

Read more about recommended browsers

They compete for "Tech Talent of the Year" title

The eight finalists. From top left: Mohamed Osman Sibai, Godwin Mba, Ellen Hådén, Rikard Radovac, Sara Rydell, Shekhar Devm Upadhyay, Simon Ljungbeck and Tianji Ma.

SEB, together with employer branding company Universum, has now selected eight candidates who will advance in the Tech Talent of the Year competition. During one week in February, they will solve a challenge related to machine learning and sustainability.

In March, a jury selects the winner, who, among other things, receives a paid summer internship at SEB and a mentor from the bank for a year.  The jury includes Petra Ålund, head of Technology at SEB,  Joachim Jerbrant, Principal Architect, Google Cloud and Danica Kragics, Professor at KTH.

This year's Tech Talent of the Year award is part of Universum's Student of the Year competition, which they arrange in collaboration with some of Sweden's largest companies. SEB is sponsoring the Tech Talent of the Year award.

"The competition is an opportunity to both draw attention to SEB as a tech employer and attract young talent who can contribute with new ideas," says Malin Brant-Lundin, head of Employer Branding in SEB.

Those who apply to participate in the competition must have studied at least two years at a higher education institution in either Sweden or one of the three Baltic countries, and have basic programming knowledge.

During the so-called 'case week' in February, the eight selected candidates come to SEB in Solna, Sweden to work on their challenges.

"I look forward to welcoming all talented tech talents to the exciting case week at SEB and taking part in their insights. Good luck," says Petra Ålund.

In addition to the internship at SEB and the mentorship, the winner will also act as a role model and ambassador for young people interested in technology.

Read more about the competition and watch a film with the winner 2022 (cotf.se)

The finalists

Rikard Radovac, Chalmers

Simon Ljungbeck, Lund

Ellen Hådén, KTH

Shekhar Devm Upadhyay, KTH

Sara Rydell, KTH

Godwin Mba, Stockholm University

Tianji Ma, KTH

Mohamed Osman Sibai, Lund